All Governors are volunteers and have a vital role to play in making sure every child gets the best possible education. For maintained schools this is reflected in the law, which states that the purpose of maintained school governing bodies is to ‘conduct the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement at the school’. 

The board of governors should have a strong focus on three core strategic functions:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  2. Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

These functions are reflected in regulations for maintained schools that came into force in September 2013 and in the criteria Ofsted inspectors use to judge the effectiveness of governance in both maintained schools and academies.

How well the board of governors does its job has a real impact on the success of a school and although they are made up of volunteers, governing bodies cannot afford to be amateur and must be held to account for their effectiveness.

Governors hold an important public office and their identity should be known to their school and wider communities. 

Structure of the Board of Governors

The board of governors meets as a full group and as two sub-committees. All dates for the academic year are set in advance.

Governors visit the school throughout the year attending assemblies, sitting on interview panels, assisting with various school trips and in school projects. In addition there is an annual Governor Day when governors are invited to visit the school for a day to see first-hand how various strategies are being implemented and how these help our children with their learning. It also provides an opportunity to meet our pupils have lunch with the children and talk with them in a classroom setting.


FAQ - Role of the Governor


Governance Arrangements

In the interests of transparency, our governance arrangements can be found here:

2017/2018 Governance Arrangements & Declarations of Interest

2016/2017 Governance Arrangements & Declaration of Interest


Contacting the GB

If you wish to make contact with the GB then please do so via the school office. The school will ensure messages are passed on and the Chair of Governors will respond to you within 5 working days. If it is an urgent matter regarding safeguarding then the Chair of Governors can be contacted directly via email on

Structure of the Board of Governors

Name                               Category

Karen Gordon                 Co-Chair (Parent)

Sue Hughes                    Co-Chair (Co-opted)

Angharad Morris             Headteacher

Katie Alfred                     Parent

Vacancy                          Parent

Vacancy                          Parent

Neil Cuthbertson             Co-opted

Vacancy                          Co-opted

Jenny Morgan                 Co-opted

Bernard Lovewell            LA Governor

Lianne Taylor                  Associate

Christine Stewart            Associate

Holly Smith                     Staff Governor



Robert Blythe                 Clerk to Governors


We are currently looking to fill our parent governor vacancies. Please look at our FAQ and contact the school office for further details.

Types of Governor

  • Staff Governors - Selected by election from teaching and support staff paid to work at the school
  • Parent Governors - Selected by election (or appointment if insufficient people stand for election) and drawn from parents and carers of children at the school
  • Co-opted Governors- Appointed by the governing body to represent community interests
  • Local Authority Governors- Appointed by the local authority
  • Associate Governors- Appointed by the governing body but holds no voting rights